About the Local Fraternity


The charter profession class of the Evansville Dominican Chapter with the Order’s Midwest Promoter of the Priestly Fraternities pose happily following their final profession.

Six Local Clergy Join The Dominican Order’s Priestly Fraternity

Without changing their status as diocesan priests and permanent deacons of the Diocese of Evansville, six members of the local clergy made their profession on November 15 in the private oratory at Indiana Cardinal as members of the Dominican Order. Two more will follow shortly.

Fathers Jim Koressel, Jack Durchholz, John Pfister and Jeff Read, along with permanent deacons Tom Goebel and Tom Kempf finished a year-long novitiate formation program and made their profession as Dominicans in the Priestly Fraternities of St. Dominic. Following shortly will be Deacon Franco Cottrell of the Louisville Diocese and Deacon John McMullen.

If you have questions or would like more information please let us know!

The first six men of the Diocese of Evansville to be professed in the Dominican Priestly Fraternity listen to the preaching that precedes the expression of their commitment. They are (l. to r.) Fr. Koressel, Deacon Kempf, Fr. Read, Fr. Pfister, Fr. Durchholz, Deacon Goebel.

According to the ancient custom of the Order, Father Jeff Read makes his Dominican profession into the hands of the Provincial Promoter of Preaching, who represents the Master of the Order.

Father Michael Monshau, O.P., is the Chicago Province’s Promoter for the Priestly Fraternities of St. Dominic. The local Chapter’s relationship with the Promoter underscores that the life and mission of the local Evansville chapter are incorporated into life of the 800-year old, international Order.

Priestly Fraternity Photo

Priestly Fraternity of St. Dominic established in the Evansville Diocese

St. Albert the Great –

Central Province

Complementary Dominican Communities. The first members of the Evansville chapter of the Dominican Laity (entitled “The Woman Clothed with the Sun”) pose on their profession day with Bishop Joseph Siegel, Bishop of Evansville; Father Anthony Breen, O.P., and their clerical counterparts, the priests and deacons who are the founders of the Mary Mediatrix Chapter of the Priestly Fraternities of St. Dominic in the Diocese of Evansville. Bishop Siegel’s support of this double foundation has been deeply appreciated since its inception.


Rev. Jack Durcholz | Pastor

Councilor Mary Mediatrix 

St. Clement Parish Boonville, Indiana

422 E. Sycamore St.
Boonville, IN 47601

Rev. John Pfister | Pastor

St. Joan of Arc Parish

327 W. McKinley St.
Jasonville, IN 47438
St. Mary Parish
105 E. Jackson St.
Sullivan, IN 47882

Rev. James Koressel | Retired

Prior (President) Mary Mediatrix 

Chaplain | Servants of the Redemptor

605 W. Eichel Ave.
Evansville, IN 47710

Rev. Mauro Rodas

Archdiocese of Indianapolis

Religious Name: Brother Egidio
4002 Oakfield Dr.
Indianapolis, IN 46237-3850

Rev. Jeff Read | Pastor

Councilor Mary Mediatrix 

St. Isidore the Farmer Parish

6864 E. St. Rd.
Celestine, IN 47521

Deacon John McMullen

Annunciation of the Lord Parish

3010 E. Chandler Ave.
Evansville, IN 47714

Deacon Frank Cottrell

Archdiocese for Military Services Ft. Knox, Kentucky

St. Joseph – Eastern Province

Chapter: Our Lady Queen of Peace Chapter President,

incoming 2020 (pictured left)

Deacon Tom Goebel

Sub-Prior Mary Mediatrix 

Corpus Christi Parish Evansville, Indiana

5528 Hogue Rd.
Evansville, IN 47712

Deacon Thomas Kempf

Novice Master Mary Mediatrix 

St. Mary & St. John Parish

613 Cherry St.
Evansville, IN 47713

Prior Fr. Jim Koressel presides and welcomes Deacon John McMullen into Mary Mediatrix, Evansville’s Dominican Priestly Fraternity as a fully professed member. Deacon McMullen serves at Annunciation Parish in Evansville.

Deacon John McMullen

Prior Fr. Jim Koressel presides and welcomes Deacon Franco Cottrell (seated) into Mary Mediatrix, Evansville’s Dominican Priestly Fraternity as a fully professed member.

Pictured from left to right behind Deacon Franco is Deacon Tom Goebel, Fr. Jack Durcholz, Fr. Jim Koressel, Fr. Jeffrey Hopper, and Deacon Tom Kempf.

Fr. Jeffery Hopper took vows as a novice into the Priestly Fraternity the same day.


For more information, contact the Promoter of the Priestly Fraternity for the Evansville Diocese, Fr. Jack Durchholz at jdurchholz@evdio.org, or 812-431-6604.